Asparagus, Ricotta & Pesto Flatbread

I recently went home with my boyfriend to his mom’s house in New Jersey and she was very impressed with my cooking. She was also very happy to know I was cooking for Matt regularly so that he could move off his traditional diet of Ramen, Canned Soup and Pasta. I’m talking it was really bad, as someone who loves food and at the same time is slightly specific about the quality of food I will eat, I was definitely not impressed when I opened up his cabinets and even slightly worried. We’ve finally gotten to the point of there being no more soup, no more ramen and we’re even on the last of the cheap peanut butter (there was 4 jars of it when I moved in!) So Naturally Marcia and I bonded over how terrible Matt’s eating habits were.

I found out Marcia is a big fan of Readers Digest and so she decided to share some of her favorite saved recipes. She showed me a picture of an Asparagus Pizza, and though I didn’t read over the ingredients I was inspired and whipped up this Asparagus, Ricotta & Pesto Flatbread the night we got home.

What You’ll Need:

1 Roll of Phyllo Dough

1 Bunch of Asparagus

1.5 Cups Ricotta

3 TBSP Sunflower Oil

1/2 Cup Parmesan Cheese

Carrot Tops from whole Bundle of Carrots

5 Cloves Garlic

3 TBSP Salt

4 TBSP Pepper

2 Cups Sunflower Oil

 

First let’s prepare the Pesto:

This is a Carrot Top Pesto, Which first off means expect a carrot recipe soon and second means you need a bundle of Carrots. If you don’t like carrots or feel like buying Carrots replace Carrot Tops with Basil. I myself Cut off the Tops of the carrots and picked off the greens, one by one, which can be tedious work. Once you have a whole heaping of your base (carrot top or basil) throw it all into the blender. Add 2 Cups of Sunflower Oil, 4 TBSP Pepper, 3 TBSP Salt, and 5 cloves of Garlic! Blender until a thick Green mess.

 

Let’s Move on to the whole Pizza:

Preheat oven to 350 Degrees and roll out Phyllo Dough onto baking sheet, I used a dough which was 5 sheets thick, as phyllo is very tempermental and fragile. Feel free to brush with a little bit of water if you are afraid of it falling apart in your hands. You won’t need Oil as the first ingredient you will be placing onto the dough is the way Pesto which is filled with oil. Spread Pesto all over as much or as sparingly as you like. Next Top off with splotches of Ricotta Cheese, a teaspoon here a teaspoon there kind of thing. Now get your asaparagus and chop off the rough and thick bottoms, which no one likes to chew on. Once the ends are removed place Asparagus onto Pizza, I suggest pressing it into the Ricotta so it is as if it is stamped in place. Now Drizzle Sunflower Oil over the Asparagus so they cook fully as the pizza cooks entirely at the same time. Lastly let’s  Sprinkle this thing with some Parmesean cheese.


Place in Oven and let cook for 15 minutes or until phyllo edges brown to your liking.

Leave a Reply

