Vegan Buffalo Dip

Sometimes I am in the mood for flavors that remind me of greasy American Food, one of my many past loves. Before I had stopped eating meat, Buffalo Wings was one of my all time favorite bar snacks. I specifically remember as I was gearing towards the idea of giving up meat, going to a local bar in Baltimore, Fraziers, and ordering a hefty order with the notion it would probably be my last time in a long time having this treat. Well I have played with a few recipes in the past and I think I have finally nailed one down that satisfies my tastebuds!

Not only did this treat satisfy me but I brought this is a friend’s vegan potluck with Friday and it was an acclaimed hit! Every person asked for the recipe, hence typing this up but even more so a few friends had brought their children (non-vegans) and they were hooked! They were making jokes how they needed to go home and have some of grandpa’s jerky, but the dip had made its’ way off of the serving table and right in front of them, digging in until it was gone. It was great to create something healthy and plant-based that could introduce these kids to Clean eating.

What you’ll Need:

2 Cans ChickPeas, Drained

2 Cups Cauliflower

1 Cup Cashews

1 Cup Nutritional Yeast

1 Cup Water

5 Cloves Garlic

3 Tbsp Onion Powder

10 oz Hot Sauce

Get this Party Started:

Bring 4 cups of water to a boil on medium to high heat on stovetop. While Water boils, Chop head of cauliflower so it is in florets. Once Water is at a boil, drop in two cups worth into the boiling water. Let it soak and steam for 10 minutes or until tender. While you wait for the cauliflower to cook, open up the two cans of chickpeas and drain them. Add Chickpeas into Blender. Once Cauliflower is done, use pasta strainer to separate it from boiling water. Add cauliflower to blender. Add 2 cups water to blender. Add nutritional yeast, and onion powder to blender. Use flat side of large knife to crush garlic and add to blender. last and most importantly, add the hot sauce. With everything together, pulse on blend until thick and smooth, should feel almost like a hummus.

Refrigerate for at least two hours and served chilled with Tortilla Chips, Carrots, Celery,Pita… Whatever your Buffalo loving self desires!

 

Leave a Reply

