Vegan Bacon Recipe

I was hankering for a BLT and instead of my usual routine which is to purchase Sweet Earth’s Benevolent Bacon I decided to try to make it at home myself. I’ve made Bacon from Coconut chips before but I’ve always found Tofu to be a bit temperamental. With this being my first attempt I would say I am very pleased with how things turned out.

Tofu Bacon Ingredients:

1 Container Firm Tofu

8 Tbsp Soy Sauce

6 Tbsp Maple Syrup

2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast

2 Tbsp Smoky Chipotle Seasoning

1 Tbsp Safflower Oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and turn onto to Bake. Remove Moisture from Tofu by blotting with paper towels or draining and than freezing shortly. Once the Tofu appears to have lost some of its’ water cut into thin slices. I found I was able to make 12 slices from one block of tofu. In a bowl, mix together the Soy Sauce, Maple Syrup, Nutritional Yeast, Oil and Smoky Seasoning. Place each strip of tofu in the bowl so it soaks up the flavor, flip the tofu strip to be sure to get both sides. On a cookie sheet or piece of tinfoil, spray oil to avoid sticking. Place the tofu on the sheet and place in oven. Cook Tofu for 20 minutes, flip and than cook for another 20 minutes. Timing can be different for everyone though so cook as long as necessary on each side until the tofu begin to harden and the sauce comes to bubble. When this is achieved on both sides, remove tofu from the oven and you will be left with a delicious vegan substitute for Bacon.

Once the Bacon was complete you better believe I made myself a BLT.

Leave a Reply

